Wednesday, November 26, 2008

I am NOT a winter person

More snow - aughhh !!! Bad enough we had 6 - 8 inches on the 16th of the month but we got another 6 inches last night. I guess the only fortunate thing is that the wife is off today, so there was no major rush to clear the driveway to drive her to work. We have been getting flurries off and on all day - sure wish it would stop already, he he he. Seriously though, there are some that just love the snow (my brother in Edmonton, for one), some that can take it or leave it and then there are those of us that would prefer NOT to have any. Although I must admit the trees are very pretty just after the first snowfall, particularly if lights happen to shine on them. Trouble is, all that pretty white pristine snow soon turns to grey crappy looking slush and then where are you at? Gotta slog through it to go anywhere and you either end up with a load of it in your boots, getting splashed by idiots in cars going too fast for the conditions or freezing your buns off.
Speaking of those that like snow - was out clearing my drive this morning and a couple of snowmobiles went by with kids on them, as well as the adults driving them. Whatever happened to work and school, people? The kids were all school age and I know the schools were open - the only area that didn't have any bus service was north of us; and it isn't a day off at school for PD day either, as our adopted grandson dropped by on his way to school so "grandma" could measure him. Hmmmm ........ must be nice to be able to take the day off whenever you want and yank the kids out of school - would never have happened when I was going to school - you practically had to be on your death-bed before you could stay home from school and forget about going out to play if you are home sick.

Ah well, guess that is enough ranting for now. Soooo ..... anyone finished their Christmas shopping yet? I have a couple of more gifts to get and that will be it for us. And no, not getting any of the gift suggestions I mentioned in a previous blog, lol. I will leave those for others ha ha ha (although I still like the scooter idea lol ). We are not too sure what is happening this year for Christmas - there is a distinct possibility the wife may have to work it, but we won't know for sure for another couple of weeks. So, will probably just drive down and drop off the gifts to the kids and grandkids beforehand (which reminds me - will have to contact daughter to get my "care package" ready lol) and spend a nice quiet time at home. This time of year gets extremely hectic, particularly if you still have shopping to do, and it is nice not having to worry about fighting crowds or traffic the closer it gets to Christmas.

Anyways, after looking out the window and seeing the snow coming down, debated whether to go out and clear it now - nah - will wait until tomorrow when the weather is supposed to clear up a bit. That's about it, so ta-ta for now and will write again soon ..................

Grandpa out .....

Friday, November 14, 2008

WHAT ?? Christmas is coming?

This year has gone buy so fast, it’s difficult to fathom Christmas isn’t that far off. Not only do most stores have Halloween decorations littering the aisles, but I actually saw Christmas decorations adorning the shelves at Wal-Mart the other day. We all know what this means, don’t we? It’s the time of year to figure out what we’re going to buy the people in our lives who have everything. I figured out last year that gift cards are the ideal item - easy to purchase, allows the recipient to get what they want, and saves a lot of running around and fighting crowds at the mall. Has anyone else given thought to holiday gifts yet? If so, are you going high tech, or keeping it simple?

Christmas is a little over a 5 1/2 weeks away (yes, yes I know - so many gifts to buy, so little time), so I thought I would assist you and provide a list of the Top 10 Redneck Christmas Gifts for those of you who are last minute shoppers. When most think of rednecks, beer comes to mind. Sure, you can buy a few cases and satisfy any redneck - but why be one of those people, when you can purchase high-tech redneck items? Some you can even make yourself by simply going to the dollar store, while others may require special order - but hurry, you want these items in time for Christmas morning.

1. The Redneck Grill - Rednecks love a good cook-out, there’s nothing like a little raccoon or possum cooked over an open flame. Why not buy your favorite redneck a grill? Ok, maybe not buy, but I’m sure you can find the tools necessary to build the one below:
2. The Redneck Lawn Mower - Some rednecks prefer goats when it comes to lawn maintenance, but this little beauty will brighten any Christmas morning:

3. The Redneck Barbie - We can’t forget all the good little redneck kiddies. Most little boy rednecks will entertain themselves with duct tape and sticks, but redneck girls? Give her a role model she can look at each day and say, “Hey, I wanna be just like her when I grow up.” (The doll is also known as Britney Spears)
4. The Redneck Senior Scooter - We can’t forget our senior rednecks. As they age, riding the mule back and forth to the mailbox or pushing a cart in Wal-Mart can become strenuous - the scooter below is for Granny, Gran-pappy’s comes with a black seat:

5. The Redneck Entertainment Center - For the high-tech rednecks, this entertainment center will bring hours of fun. Sunday Nascar races, phone calls from bill collectors and writing to their favorite prison pen-pals while sitting on a comfortable seat:

6. The Redneck Computer - This computer is for those rednecks who are not yet skilled in using high-end technology. Comes installed with Redneck Winders, however the mouse is optional. I suggest looking in the outhouse or barn and make sure the balls are clean.

7. The Redneck Hunting Dog - As they say, a dog is man’s best friend. The Redneck Hunting Dog can not only shoot a gun, but run back to the house and tell Mom and Dad that Timmy is stuck in a cave:
8. The Redneck Car Lock - Forget the bar across the steering wheel, this lock will make car thieves think twice before stealing a redneck’s car - although I’m not sure who would want to steal one to begin with:
9. The Redneck Gift Basket - Since I mentioned beer, you can buy a gift basket full of a redneck’s favorite beer - which is usually Budweiser. Don’t buy some high-society foreign beer - you’ll only confuse them. Bottles or cans doesn’t matter either - they entertain themselves with both:
10. Redneck Airbags - This gift is a two for one kind of deal. First, you have to find a redneck chick that looks like, well her. Then you have to force her to drive the redneck man around. What he does with her after he gets home is up to him - this gift is quite expensive due to this fact - monthly payments are involved as well as a case of beer and the gift basket listed above.



There you have it - the Top 10 Redneck Christmas Gifts for 2008. Never forget, rednecks are people too. Do not purchase sheep - just a friendly reminder.
As you have probably gathered by now, the above list of gifts was strictly tongue-in-cheek. I am sure that you will probably come up with much better gifts on your own, without my help (although the scooter definitely has possibilities :>) ).
Anyways, from our house to yours, may the upcoming season be joyous, may you get all that you deserve and may you enjoy each other's company. Merry Christmas everyone !
Grandpa out .........

Wednesday, November 12, 2008

Just a Wandering Man

The wife and I went to Barrie today and visited some former co-workers and friends at my old office. The main reason was because a good friend is expecting. I was surprised, to say the least. Not that there is anything wrong with that; just that I never thought that she would get around to having a family - she always seemed to be having an enjoyable time travelling around with or without hubby. Anyways, I know that she will make a wonderful mother as she adores her niece and I am sure she will enjoy the time off from work also. We wish nothing but the best for her, hubby and the little one to come. God Bless.

Saw a few other friends and former co-workers also while we were at the office. It was sure nice seeing everyone. Unfortunately, a good friend wasn't available - apparently she is down in Vegas this week spending all her hubby's money lol. Oh well, I am sure that we will catch up with her sometime in the near future. A couple of people mentioned that they were "slightly jealous" and wished they could retire as well. Well, DON'T HATE THE PLAYER; HATE THE GAME! he he he he. Funny how you still tend to miss the office atmosphere and the friendships/working relationships that you build up there. As I have stated numerous times before, I certainly don't miss the work (not that it was that difficult) but I sure do miss the people. Sitting at home during one of my many coffee breaks (all day, every day :>) ) and having the cat stare at me or jumping up on the computer desk or chair is not quite the same. It is a tough life and someone has to do it so it might as well be me I guess. :>)

While in Barrie, my wife suggested that I pick up the gift certificates for my granddaughters while we were there. The girls love shopping at Fairview Mall in Toronto and as Georgian Mall in Barrie is part of the whole Cadillac Fairview thing, it makes sense to pick up the gift cards there. It was a great idea, saving me another trip down to Barrie. Of course, you know she had an ulterior motive - she HAD to stop at Kernels Popcorn to pick up a large bag of popcorn lol. Whatever makes her happy - I am not a popcorn fanatic myself - I prefer a nice cookie or dark chocolate but, being diabetic, I have to limit what I have :>( . I am just glad that the weather cooperated and wasn't too miserable for the drive down and back - I hate the highway in rain or snow, what with all the transports passing me like I am standing still.

Anyways, that was my day more or less. Sure enjoyed the visit and, knowing that some of the office staff read this blog, BEWARE !!!!! You never know when I will drop in to make sure you are continuing to work hard for us retired folks, ha ha ha ha.

Not to worry folks, my promised blog on Christmas is coming out shortly. Until then, ............

Grandpa out ........

Monday, November 10, 2008

Remembrance Day 2008


November 11th - A day of remembrance, to give thanks for our freedom. For those of us born during peacetime, all wars seem far removed from our daily lives.






We often take for granted our Canadian values and institutions, our freedom to participate in cultural and political events, and our right to live under a government of our choice. The Canadians who went off to war in distant lands went in the belief that the values and beliefs enjoyed by Canadians were being threatened. They truly believed that "Without freedom there can be no ensuring peace and without peace no enduring freedom."



By remembering their service and their sacrifice, we recognize the tradition of freedom these men and women fought to preserve. They believed that their actions in the present would make a significant difference for the future, but it is up to us to ensure that their dream of peace is realized. On Remembrance Day, we acknowledge the courage and sacrifice of those who served their country and acknowledge our responsibility to work for the peace they fought hard to achieve.





By remembering all who have served, we recognize their willingly-endured hardships and fears, taken upon themselves so that we could live in peace.





I leave you now to remember in your own way .......





Grandpa out ............

Thursday, November 6, 2008

Items of Note

Well, here it is November 6th and several items of note have occurred over the last several days. Firstly on a sad note, a young boy of 15 from the Barrie area, who ran away from home on October 13th after an argument with his parents over his use of a video game, was found deceased yesterday. Although official confirmation won't be made until autopsy results are completed, the police are pretty certain it is Brandon. Although foul play has not been ruled out, police aren't looking at that aspect right now. In all likelihood, Brandon probably died from exposure - we had some wickedly cold nights around that time. So sad, to lose one's life over a stupid game. Unfortunately, that is the way of things now-a-days; kids are more prone to sitting inside and playing video games, rather than get outside and play with friends while getting fresh air. No wonder obesity is rampant amongst the young ones. When I was growing up (yes, many years ago), we had a choice - get outside to play or do chores. Never being one to enjoy chores that much, I always took the other option, only coming home when I got hungry or it got dark, whichever came first. I also never had the luxury of having a parent drive me to the mall, or downtown or wherever. If I wanted to go, it was up to me to find my way - usually by bike, but occasionally by bus if going downtown (I grew up in Vancouver BC and area, so "downtown" was quite a distance, although I did travel it a couple of times by bike).

The second item of note was the American elections. They were poised to make history, no matter which way the elections went. If the Democrats won, they would have the first African-American president. If the Republicans won, then they would have the first female vice-president ever. As it turned out, the Democrats won handily, with something like 349 electoral votes vs 163 (approximately), with Barack Obama garnering 53% of the popular vote vs John McCain's 46%. It was a very long (a year or so), hard-fought campaign, what with each candidate first having to win their respective nominations and then having to battle their opponents to gain votes in the various states. Voter turnout was apparently very high as well, around the 64% mark according to various reports. Whether this was interest generated due to the candidates or due to the fact that people were just plain tired of "Bush-onomics" and didn't want another 4 years of the same old, same old, only time will tell. I am sure glad that the Canadian process of elections isn't based on the American model - I don't think I could stand a year long campaign of politicians lol.

I guess the only other item of note right now is the glorious weather we have been experiencing for the last several days. Temperatures in the mid-teens to low 20's during the day with lots and lots of sun! I LOVE IT !!! If this is what fall is going to be, bring it on! Unfortunately though, saw on the weather this morning that the next 5 days are supposed to be rainy, with the temps dropping down to a high of 3 next week, and a possibility of wet snow as well :>( . Oh well, knew it was too good to last, although the way the weather forecasters have been wrong this year, there is hope yet.

Well, in order to not make this too long, will call it a day for now. Stay tuned for my next blog when I will discuss the upcoming Christmas season and possibly suggest some gifts for loved ones. Take care all and have a good day ...

Grandpa out .......

Saturday, November 1, 2008

I Survived !!!

Well, here it is the day after Halloween and so far, I haven't seen any little kiddies running feverishly around with sugar highs. That, I guess, is a good thing -- it probably means that mom and dad have put the candy garnered last night in a high cupboard or on a high shelf and will be handing it out in small doses, lol.

Surprise, surprise! I actually enjoyed handing out the goodies to the kids last night. Not having "shelled out" for several years for various reasons (away that night, etc., etc.), I had forgotten how cute some of the little ones could look, making their way down the drive and up the stairs (some with the help of mom or dad), dragging their pillowcase or other candy-holding item in their little hands, and staring up in awe when I reached beside me and came up with a handful of candies (nut free, due to the current problems with life threatening allergies) and placed them in their containers. Then, with a whispered thank you, they would again navigate the stairs and driveway and go on to the next house, for some more goodies. What a treat! Just when I thought I had seen the last of the costumed rug-rats for the night, around the corner came another gaggle of them, all yelling trick or treat! My next door neighbor (new to the neighborhood, having moved from the country) seemed to enjoy herself immensely handing out the goodies to all the little ones. Although she used to bring her kids to town for Halloween, it is a far different thing to sit at your front door and hand out the goodies, rather than have to schlepp (is that even the right spelling?) from door to door while the kids do their thing. Hope you enjoyed it Tammy and, by the way, welcome to the neighborhood.

Oh Joy! Here comes a Princess, with a cowboy in tow. Next came a Power Ranger (I thought they were outdated, but guess not). We had lots of ghosts and werewolfs and vampires as well. There was one little guy of (I would hazard a guess) about four years of age, and when I asked him if he was a Power Ranger (the costume looked similar to one and after all, what do I know?), he got quite indignant and haughtily said "NO! I am a gladiator!" The look on his face was priceless when he said it. I apologized to him and gave him a couple of extra treats, which seemed to mollify him somewhat. However, as he walked up the drive, I could hear him tell his mom "he called me a Power Ranger". Too funny!!

I saw a couple of older teens taking their siblings around door to door and they even took the time to dress up a bit themselves, which I thought was great. So did some of the parents. The one thing I don't care for is when the older kids come to the door by themselves or in groups, looking for candy. I mean - get real - here they are, young teens in the range of 17 or 18 years old and they can't even be bothered to dress up and they want candy. In three words, GET A JOB! and buy some. Sorry to all the readers - that is just a personal opinion. It has been a pet peeve of mine for many years.

Anyways, all in all, it was a great night, even though I had to run up and down stairs numerous times. I think we probably had around 60 - 70 kids in total; I know that the goodies were starting to get quite low towards the end, but we had enough fortunately. The highlight of the evening for me was seeing my adopted granddaughter Kayla when she dropped by just after 9 pm. She had been out earlier with friends in her own area and her mom brought her by so we could see the costume - Kayla was dressed up as an "Egyptian Goddess" (or something like that) and looked real cute. Stupid me, I forgot to get a picture! Oh well, I am sure mom took some and I will get one from her. Hmmm ..... leftover Tootsie Rolls ......... yum yum. Both my wife and I like them, but being diabetic I can't have too many at once so will have to make them last. I will grab a few and hide them so my wife can't eat them all ha ha. That way, I am sure I can make them last until my favourite time of the year - Xmas - with all the home made goodies that my daughter will make (she calls it a care package for Dad, lol). Well, I think that is all for now, so will end this posting. Take care all and remember not to make yourself sick eating all the leftover candies.

Grandpa out ..........