Wednesday, November 26, 2008

I am NOT a winter person

More snow - aughhh !!! Bad enough we had 6 - 8 inches on the 16th of the month but we got another 6 inches last night. I guess the only fortunate thing is that the wife is off today, so there was no major rush to clear the driveway to drive her to work. We have been getting flurries off and on all day - sure wish it would stop already, he he he. Seriously though, there are some that just love the snow (my brother in Edmonton, for one), some that can take it or leave it and then there are those of us that would prefer NOT to have any. Although I must admit the trees are very pretty just after the first snowfall, particularly if lights happen to shine on them. Trouble is, all that pretty white pristine snow soon turns to grey crappy looking slush and then where are you at? Gotta slog through it to go anywhere and you either end up with a load of it in your boots, getting splashed by idiots in cars going too fast for the conditions or freezing your buns off.
Speaking of those that like snow - was out clearing my drive this morning and a couple of snowmobiles went by with kids on them, as well as the adults driving them. Whatever happened to work and school, people? The kids were all school age and I know the schools were open - the only area that didn't have any bus service was north of us; and it isn't a day off at school for PD day either, as our adopted grandson dropped by on his way to school so "grandma" could measure him. Hmmmm ........ must be nice to be able to take the day off whenever you want and yank the kids out of school - would never have happened when I was going to school - you practically had to be on your death-bed before you could stay home from school and forget about going out to play if you are home sick.

Ah well, guess that is enough ranting for now. Soooo ..... anyone finished their Christmas shopping yet? I have a couple of more gifts to get and that will be it for us. And no, not getting any of the gift suggestions I mentioned in a previous blog, lol. I will leave those for others ha ha ha (although I still like the scooter idea lol ). We are not too sure what is happening this year for Christmas - there is a distinct possibility the wife may have to work it, but we won't know for sure for another couple of weeks. So, will probably just drive down and drop off the gifts to the kids and grandkids beforehand (which reminds me - will have to contact daughter to get my "care package" ready lol) and spend a nice quiet time at home. This time of year gets extremely hectic, particularly if you still have shopping to do, and it is nice not having to worry about fighting crowds or traffic the closer it gets to Christmas.

Anyways, after looking out the window and seeing the snow coming down, debated whether to go out and clear it now - nah - will wait until tomorrow when the weather is supposed to clear up a bit. That's about it, so ta-ta for now and will write again soon ..................

Grandpa out .....

1 comment:

Charity said...

Hey dad I don't feel sry for you lol. You guys were the ones that decided to move up there and yes I know at the time it was for good reasons but now look you are getting lots of snow that I know that you hate and we here in the city don't have any YET lol.
Just be careful because we can not lose you now.